The Plot Thickens – Overcoming A Writing Challenge

SHARING A #WRITING #CHALLENGE WITH YOU: I am about 80% through with the longest most complex fun novel I have ever written, “The Carneeg”; however, for the first time ever I the-strategy-1080527_1920noted that I was avoiding completing my work. I was writing poetry, researching marketing, working on our author’s meetUp group, learning new software…. Just not writing.

I told my wife, Evelyn, where I was in the story. She had read and quickly edited the first 200 pages 3 weeks earlier. I had added 50 pages but not more. Because the story is so complex and rich with world creation, I have 26 pages of notes which include my first attempt at interviewing my characters as @Alvin Wander, my friend and author, inspired me to do.

I needed someone to talk to about my problem so she listened.  I told her wear I was in the story and I enumerated the 6 sub plots that were seeking resolution, most of which had started in the first 200 pages she had read.

rear-mirror-2480506_1920As the wise teacher once said, “the solution is in the problem,” also a powerful 5,000 year old Rosicrucian teaching. When I finished, I knew why I was not writing and what I had to do. I had “felt” overwhelmed by the complexity of what I thought I had to keep in mind; however, in reality all I had to do was summarize the issues and speak them to another person. When I clearly formulated my challenge, I also formulated a question that my mind could ask of the muse and I had the answer.  All I really needed to do was decide which were the main subplots, how they would resolve (completely in this book or partially for the next volume to come), decide what is a great ending for this series installment and write it. My books write themselves, I never know the ending.  In this way it is as much fun writing it as reading it.  I have my 26 pages of summary notes to reference and my editor will know if I have left anything untied. Tomorrow is the beginning of the end 🙂

Janr Ssor

 

Leave a Reply

