Explain It To Your Grandmother!

Science Fiction Is Fact,  Before It Can Be Proven.

— You may quote me on this.  Does this statement mean that anything you can conceive of,  can be and will be a reality?   Without spending the time it would take to explain this to my grandmother,  I will tell you that I believe the answer is yes!  In infinity, for example,  there are an unending number of “shades of you” on an unending number of worlds, much like our world, but different from the one you are now on.  Each world  just varies in “its nature” much as candles do in their light when you sit between two mirrors and watch the one candle next to you trail off into infinity in limitless iterations of  its fractal like images……..
As a hint to those of you who like science, are intrigued by this statement and like being swept away in hours of thought,  consider the implications of the fairly well accepted statement that our world is infinite. One of my favorite people,  Albert Einstein, said that,  “You do not really understand something until you can explain it to your grandmother.”   I believe this is true.  The only part that Einstein left out was that it could take hours to explain it to your grandmother. Not to mention the more difficult task of keeping her awake through the process.
A while back I gave up explaining things that took me hours to understand; well at least for the most part…. this compulsion often overcomes my minimal wisdom.   Over many years of college, I have listened to a few egotistic college professors babble on and on, from a position of their intellectual superiority, attempting to share their great knowledge with us commoners.  They either put me to sleep or I skipped their classes and read the text books in my dorm (a privilege supposedly allotted to us nerds who are out of high school).  I certainly do not want to be looking or even
smelling like them in my writing .  However,  I could not help but be attracted to the concepts that most of the great teachers spent their life focused on, learning for the joy of learning and the sea of thoughts it’s rains of concepts produced.
On the expostulating  side of things and as a better way of communicating complex thoughts oftenwalt_disney_1946-andmickey-mouse contradicting “common knowledge,” I chose to listen to the words of a far wiser man than these few long winded college professors,  Walt Disney.
Walt said,  “I would rather entertain someone  with the hopes of educating them then to educate them with the hopes of entertaining them.”   With great respect for a man who changed the world in a positive way and brightened all our lives;  I humbly strive to be walk in his shoes,  knowing I may never be able to fill them. I write Sci-Fi,  and hope that I entertain you and keep you up at night for hours of silent thought wondering, “could it be true?”   Why not start here with wondering could it be true? Every story I write is fiction (from the common point of view) but not from mine!  What about yours?  Are you willing to “expand your mind” without the drugs that were so alluring to those of us who grew up in the 60’s?
… Janr Ssor
One comment on “Explain It To Your Grandmother!

Leave a Reply

