Thinking Outside The Box – Creative Ideas

In response to the question – “Where do the unusually creative ideas come from?”

I don’t know what your mind is like; as I have never been in it. All I know is my friends tell me that I do not think like them.

Wherever I have been involved in any organization’s leadership (many times) or just time with friends, people end up telling me,  “you think outside the box.” Those who really know me well say, “you live outside the box.” From most people this is a compliment occasional it could be a less positive comment; but in my case, I have never cared.

Reviews of my writing periodically involve comments about my creative suggestions and again outside the box thinking.  It is simple, this is who I am.  My books and short stories have simply flowed from my fingers. No matter how outrageous the story, there seems no limit.  In other words,  I do not believe in “writer’s block.”

I have always chosen to live in change and challenge.  When I write a story it does not go through the process some writers  are taught about planning,  outlining and finally filling in the details.   I simply start writing about something that has come to mind at 4:30 AM, quite often. What is really exciting is that as I write the story,  I am reading it for the first time!  It is as if someone is telling it to me and I am taking

notes.

If you have ever enjoyed reading an exciting story (and I hope you have),

World of Magic. Female portrait with abstract world in hand

World of Magic. Female portrait with abstract world in hand

this is almost exactly my experience writing it! As for the “out of box thinking,” I don’t actually think this was a conscious choice.  My mom had this genetic thing that she gave to me and so does my daughter.  My mom did a lot of writing and she was always up at 4:00 in the morning.  Though she did not share much with me (we did not see eye to eye),  she did say however that it was quieter, early in the morning, when the noise of everyone’s minds thinking were not there. Now there is something to think about!

I wake up at 4:30 AM and have these ideas or hypnagogic
dreams that are more real than reality.  From these experiences,  I often begin writing.  If a story ever seems to stop,  I take a long walk or bike ride and it begins writing itself again.  My lifestyle is not “normal” either and I like it that way.

At least for the last 5 or 6  years, for breakfast I have salads with some protein in them.  Lunch is “normal”  but I do not do dinner or meet socially for dinner.  I believe that dinner is a modern invention of civilization created to please restaurant owners. It is much like shopping for Christmas presents for 6 months before Christmas is an economic contrivance.  Eating after 4:00 pm,  in my opinion is bad for your health.  It denies your body an opportunity to clean itself as it does when fasting.  This is where the term Break-fast came from.  In primitive times,  as we evolved, most of us ate during the day when we could forage for food or hunt.  In the evening we rested and fasted.  Yes I know there was fruit and nuts that you could store, even in a cave.  Our bodies have evolved around this paradigm, but we follow that created by the electric light and food as pleasure culture. …….. a topic for another day.

In any case,  I sat down to write about 4:30 am, I think.  If you have studied Rosicrucian literature, as I have, you will know the secret system for solving problems.  I find that the answer comes at 4:30 am.

My next book is now 80% created.  It is called (for now) “The Carnneeg.”   I may publish some early chapters of it on a site like Booksie.   We shall see.  If so you will find the links on the social media,  like Facebook  or Twitter.

Leave a Reply

