Mind-Body –> Stroke-Heart Attack!

After viewing the images of over 80,000 retinas (the back layer of the eye where blood vessels can be seen non-invasively) , I started to write a book about how the diet of my patients had caused hardening of the arteries.  After all it was clear that the vast majority of those who had this arterial disease ate high carbohydrate diets.

One of my eternal rules however, is that nothing human’s know is true;  we are only capable of  approximate truths.  That is why Newton was followed by Einstein,  and inevitably Einstein will be followed by someone else who will doubt everythingdethrone Einstein.

Well, last night what happened for me at a meeting of my Optimal Health Care group, was I had to re-consider my own strongly held beliefs.  The Optimal Health Care group meets monthly and shares ideas on how to treat illness from a holistic viewpoint,  without drugs and their side effects.   We were discussing our current understanding of disease,  much of which does not rely on  Descartes’ mechanical theories of human illness, which current Western medicine embraces.  Most of us follow more the Hippocratic teaching through which he  taught his patients with Asthma to learn to avoid anger.  This was the beginning of the mind body connection.  Anyway, what occurred to me as I explained my photographic tests and the  observations of thousands of patients with hardening of the arteries, diabetes and hypertension, all related to eating carbs, was that it might only be partially correct!

It occurred to me that my patients were eating lots of carbs which we call “comfort foods.”   I was laughing at how sad it was when some of my Italian patients told me they would rather have a stroke then give up their traditional pasta.  I was commenting on what an addiction carbs were.  Then it occurred to me.  What if carbs were only part of the story?  What if the reason they could not give up the carbs was because it has the same effect as drinking wine; calming stress!   Of course it does!  That is why we call them “comfort foods”.  I would not even call them foods as they are often fake foods.   Western medicine would put you on drugs that lower your cholesterol but meanwhile damage other things in your body.  I must admit that there is enough evidence for me to doubt these statin drugs even do any good.  From my observations they do nothing I can detect and are just part of the runaway drug culture medical doctors are drowning in.

I now have a new perspective on these 3 vascular diseases.  It is clearly carb related but probably very much stress related too!  Ask these people what their lives are like and you instantly have sympathetic stomach pains.  There is no rest, no relaxation, no time for themselves.  They have no hobbies or interests that they can name, only their love of their family and  “self sacrifice”  so their children will have better lives…….. they think.  But I ask you,  when you teach your children by sacrificing your life,  don’t you know they will do as you do and not as you say?

I will leave that for another story.

Janr

Leave a Reply

