Who Is Ibrahim?

In my story,  TIMELESS SEARCH,  Ibrahim is a major character who is  of  Arabic descent.   Ibrahim is a brilliant mathematician and student of Islamic Law.  He is very tall, powerful,  ethical and influential.  He is also part of the team that will determine the future of all life in out universe.

Ibrahim faces a challenge which many of us in America have to deal with when relating to Muslims,  he has to deal with what he has learned from Islamic Law, Sharia,  vs what is backbone of our American law and society,  the Judeo-Christian Heritage.

For those of you who have written to me and asked why I created Ibrahim;  I believe this  story could not exist without him.  Just as the story of the evolution of our world today will not be told without reference to Islam, so my story could not have existed,  without Ibrahim and Islam.

Many years ago,  I had the opportunity to know two brothers who were students of Islam,  much like my character, Ibrahim.   They had both memorized the Quaran and would frequently review it between them to keep in memory.  I asked them questions about the roots of the Islamic system of ethics (how it might compare to our 10 commandments)  but I was disappointed with the lack of a clear answer.   I have yet to receive one but hope to in the future.  In the meantime,  Ibrahim is my closest answer as he struggles with the challenge it has caused in my mind.   As an example of the dilemma  that Ibrahim had to face here is one question that arises:

Consider the law “Thou Shalt Not Murder!”  

  • The 10 Commandments states:    Thou Shalt Not Murder
  • In the Quaran you may find:  “And do not kill anybody that Allah has prohibited except when you have a right to kill” (6:151)
Now I am not claiming any expertise in the Quaran so this is taken from Islamic sites that do claim to be authoritative.  The Judeo-Christian version also is careful not to say “thou shalt not kill”  but rather thou shalt not murder.  This is because to murder is premeditated and to kill may be defensive or accidental.   How we interpret this commandment is of great importance to how we survive as a civilized and spiritual people.

In my story,  TIMELESS SEARCH,  I take this question of  great importance one step further.   But I will leave that for you to discover in  TIMELESS SEARCH.
Janr Ssor
Leave a Reply

